Here are the finalists for the 2023 National Book Awards

The National Book Awards announced the finalists for its 2023 prizes on Tuesday.

The winners will be announced on Nov. 15 at a ceremony in New York. The festivities, which will also be live-streamed free, were originally set to be hosted by Drew Barrymore, whose invitation was rescinded after she announced that her talk show would resume amid the Hollywood strikes. She later decided to pause production. No new host has been named, but Oprah Winfrey will make a guest appearance.

More than 1,900 books were submitted to be considered for the awards, including 496 fiction titles and 638 nonfiction titles, according to the National Book Foundation. Finalists will receive $1,000 and a bronze medal (with authors and translators splitting the prize money in the translated literature category).

You can find the full longlist of 50 nominated books here.

The finalists are:

‘Blackouts,’ by Justin Torres

Return to menu

Torres’s second book, out next week, weaves a fictional biography of a 20th-century sex researcher with the present-day story of a young man who promises to finish the researcher’s project. “It’s rare to come across a young writer with a voice whose uniqueness, power and resonance are evident from the very first page, or even the very first paragraph,” Jeff Turrentine wrote in The Washington Post, reviewing Torres’s debut, “We the Animals,” which was adapted into a feature film.


Leave a Comment